A cup of tea.

6th day of August, 2017.

Aroma of Rakshabandhan (Rakhi) celebration is in the air and I got Rakhis of all different types on my wrist with the love of all my sisters.

On the way back to my home, at one of the heavy traffic signal of the city, I met this man. He was selling something to each of the car, impatiently waiting for green light. After 8-10 unsuccessful attempts, he came to me and said “he ghya” (please take it). It was fidget spinner. I wanted have one, but I thought, I will order it online. He again approached me, with a gentle touch on my shoulder. “Sir, he ghya. Spinner.” He gave me offer to buy it and the amount was lesser then what I checked online few days back. I thought let’s give it a try. A bit of negotiation and we agreed upon a price. I gave him money and bought it.

Now the story begins, next few words of his got my attention. He said, “Thank far shhapping”. What he meant was Thank you for shopping. A person who haven’t spoke a single word of other than Marathi language, in our conversation, thanked me in English. I was surprised. I asked him, “Who taught you this?” He politely replied, “My daughter”. I again asked curiously, “In which class she is studying”. He said, “She is in 8th class”. Now I was thinking, this festival is for everybody and everyone should be celebrating it. So I offered him the same money for which I bought my toy. The signal light was green and everybody were honking very hard to move me from my place. This guy told me to wait on the other side of the signal.

On the other side I waited for him. He came, put the money I had given him in my hand and said very politely. Sir, thanks but I can’t take it because I haven’t earned it. He took extra care not to hurt my feeling while selecting his words. Now I was regretting negotiation part that happened few minutes back. I requested him again to keep money for his daughter and he refused again. This time, I sensed that somewhere I was hurting his feeling of self-respect. So I didn’t push. I asked him to have a chai (tea) with me and he agreed. We had a tea on the nearby road side tea stall and continued our journey towards our destination.

Lesson learnt :

-Sometimes it’s good to have a little conversation with unknown people.

-Don’t hesitate to try something new, something different. (Like he tried to speak English)

-Always, Always learn from others. Irrespective of their age, designation or position. (He learnt from his daughter.)

-Don’t be impatient. (Like the people honking me on the signal.)

-Think before you act. (Like he did while refusing extra money.)

 

Leave a Reply

